The Submarines Secret Show, Birthday Madness and more

It’s been a busy week here at the Tank. We’ve been celebrating birthdays – Happy B’day Timmers – and running around town trying to catch some music.

Scenes from a b’day party:

[Timmers and friends: Just some alt bros hanging out.]

[Juliana and Ana Djonovic helping Tim celebrate at the Shortstop.]

[As you can tell, we raged. Thanks Jobrasnake for the photo.]

[Well, Tina and Tim kind of did…]

Caught a great set by The Submarines last night, at a private party hosted by Quiksilver. Saw some familiar faces (shout out to Kat!) and chatted up some very interesting folks. Ran over to Spaceland for Gran Ronde – another fine set and familiar faces. Ronde is in the middle of their month-long residency so I suggest ya’ll get over there and catch a ditty or two…

Meanwhile, accidentally caught a couple songs by Jim Ward’s new band, Sleepercar. Some of you may recognize his name from Sparta and At the Drive-In fame. These songs were not what I expected at all… More Texas than Southern Cali. Well done Jim!

Tonight, I am venturing to my favorite eatery (ok, one of them) – Taylor’s. I don’t know if it’s necessarily the steak but you can’t top the atmosphere! Maybe it’s because it reminds me of my NYC roots… All that dark wood. Needless to say, the need to order a dirty martini consumes me the second I step through the door! Maybe I’ll take some photos tonight…

Leave a Reply

